• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

File size when exporting photos

New Here ,
Dec 02, 2020 Dec 02, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I am new to Lightroom and not sure about how to change this......as a test I uploaded a couple of photos as low res, 900 pixels at 72ppi, edited them, and xported to desktop.   They have automatically been resized to 240px wide and have shrunk accordingly.  How do I keep Lightroom from changing them?

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
New Here ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

ooops typo.......240ppi

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

PPI has nothing to do with file size. It's an instruction for the printer only and can almost always be ignored. The pixel dimensions are what counts.

-- Johan W. Elzenga

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
community guidelines
New Here ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Screen Shot 2020-12-02 at 9.24.02 pm.pngScreen Shot 2020-12-02 at 9.25.37 pm.png

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
community guidelines
New Here ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

it has gone from 189kb down to 153kb.......larger sizes come out of Lightroom even smaller!    Awkward if you need to keep them at 200kb......

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
community guidelines
LEGEND ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

It is impossible (for Lightroom Classic or any other software) to force the JPGs to be exactly 200KB. Furthermore, it doesn't make sense to set such a requirement. Trying to achieve this will cause you to perform a lot of unnecessary work, and you won't get there anyway.