• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

How can I get Canon DPP 4 results in Lightroom?

Community Beginner ,
Apr 11, 2020 Apr 11, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello. When I shoot, I usually come back with hundreds of images and bring them into Lightroom by default. As a freelance journalist, I usually quickly rank and select images, caption, perform minimal edits and export.

I know that using Canon Digital Photo Professional 4 offers several advantages around image quality, especially for reducing grain. I've just compared some recent images in the two programs and overall, the photos I bring into DPP have better detail, sharpness, and contrast, too.

Unlike Lightroom, DPP is more about editing one-off images than managing thousands per week, so it's impractical for daily use. 

Does anyone know:

1. Is there any reason Lightroom can't achieve the same image quality?
  2. Are there Lightroom settings that could achieve the same quality and be applied at import? If so, what would you recommend?

Thanks!

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Apr 11, 2020 Apr 11, 2020

Most camera companies like to reserve their in-camera processing (their “secret sauce”) for their own software, like Canon does with DPP, and will not share it with other applications like Lightroom, Capture One, Luminar, etc. That's why other companies have to do their own work to try and duplicate the look.

Adobe tried to make this easier in this year’s overhaul of the Lightroom Classic camera defaults. Now, to get as close as possible to the camera’s look at import time, you can choose Came

Votes

Translate

Translate
LEGEND ,

Copy link to clipboard