Highlighted

How do I increase photo resolution for printing?

Community Beginner ,
Jul 06, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I am new to Lightroom and need to increase the resolution of photos (300dpi?) and export so my client can print. Please advise with step by step tutorial if possible, thank you! 

Topics

How to

Views

Translate

Translate

Community Guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more

How do I increase photo resolution for printing?

Community Beginner ,
Jul 06, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I am new to Lightroom and need to increase the resolution of photos (300dpi?) and export so my client can print. Please advise with step by step tutorial if possible, thank you! 

Topics

How to

Views

Translate

Translate

Community Guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
LEGEND ,
Jul 06, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

It sounds like you have a very weak understanding of your client's needs, and the first thing you should do is come to better understanding of what (s)he is asking for.

Lightroom Classic does not control DPI (dots per inch). DPI is not a characteristic of a digital image.

Lightroom Classic can control PPI (pixels per inch) which is different, and is sometimes called resolution. Is this what you are referring to? If so, then when you export a photo, you click on the "Image Sizing" box, you specify a resolution of 300 pixels per inch, then you specify the width and height in inches or centimeters, and then you export.

Translate

Translate

Community Guidelines
Community Beginner ,
Jul 06, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi, thank you for your reply! I meant to post in Lightroom not Lightroom Classic- does the info apply to both? 

Translate

Translate

Community Guidelines
LEGEND ,
Jul 06, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied