• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

How do you (easily) exclude the sky from adjustments?

New Here ,
Aug 14, 2019 Aug 14, 2019

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

As a landscape photographer, I frequently need to make adjustments (sharpness, texture etc) to the foreground without causing these adjustments to create artefacts in the sky.  At the moment I have to either (a) make adjustments to the whole image, then try to 'undo' these for the sky by using the graduated filter with a colour or luminance mask to isolate the sky.  But reversing the adjustments tends not to remove all of the artefacts. And, because it is a graduated filter, the corrections are not applied evenly to the sky.   Or (b), I have to use the Adjustment Brush to painstakingly select the non-sky areas.  

What would make the process so much simpler would be to be able to use the graduated filter and range mask to select the sky, invert this to select the rest of the image and set the gradient to zero, so that the mask is applied evenly to the rest of the image. 

In the absence of such a feature, has anyone found an efficient way of doing this?

(Lightroom Classic 8.3.1)

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
LEGEND ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Photoshop.

Which is included in your Photographers subscription.

In LR Adjustment brush and only do the adjustments to the areas you want by placing pins in those areas.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
New Here ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied