• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

How to keep all photos in the cloud while editing in Lightroom classic

New Here ,
Jun 05, 2020 Jun 05, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi there. I'm new to using Lightroom and still trying to find the best ways to perform my workflow. I started off using lightroom cc before moving to lightroom classic as I wanted to make use of the additional features from the original software. I do all my editing on my MacBook Air with a relatively small hard drive. What I liked most about lightroom cc when I first started using it was that all of my files are being stored in the Creative Cloud and not on my machine. Last week I did a shoot and imported my photos into lightroom cc. I then closed that app down and opened up Lightroom classic to do my editing. That worked fine, and I was able to edit my photos on the cloud using the fixtures and layouts of the classic software, with none of the files staying on my disk. As I said, I have a small hard drive, so it's brilliant that it was all on the cloud. Yesterday I did another shoot and tried to do the same thing. It was a more extensive shoot this time, so I had to dump 2SD cards into lightroom cc. I left it overnight to sync to the Creative Cloud. This morning I opened up lightroom classic to begin my editing. As I attempted to start editing, I noticed that not all of my photos were in lightroom classic, but were all in Lightroom cc. For some reason, some of the images that I imported stayed on my disk, and lightroom classic is pulling them up in Finder. What I want to be able to do is delete all of the pictures off my hard drive and still be able to edit them in Lightroom classic. I wanted to see what would happen if I removed one of the photos from Finder directly. Sure enough, after I deleted it, I wasn't able to edit it in Lightroom Classic but had no troubles in Lightroom cc.