• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

How to merge editing history from one Catalog file to another (same images, but different pathnames)

New Here ,
Feb 20, 2020 Feb 20, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Greetings. I've been using various photo-editing apps for a long time, but I'm new to Lightroom, and in particular to its catalog-management features. Until very recently, I simply used the regular on-disk structure of filenames and directories to organize my photo collection… and it seems I've run into a problem arising from my incomplete understanding of how Lightroom stores editing data, and as a result I have, at least for the moment, lost numerous hours of editing work. I'm confident the work can be recovered; the question is how. I decided it would be prudent to ask for advice here before improvising a recovery attempt on my own.

Essentially, here's what happened:

(1) Over the past week or two, I've been using Lightroom to edit some of the images that I originally captured over the past seven weeks or so (since 1/1/2020). These images were stored on disk, using a rudimentary directory structure, mostly limited to one directory per shooting date, with no further differentiation inside each directory. I had imported all of those images into Lightroom as a new, separate Catalog designated for the year 2020.