Hello, I started syncing a new collection from LR classic to LR cloud. Somehow it happened that all my previously shared albums and folders are deleted although all the pictures are still in there. Is it possible to restore the created albums/folders with all the settings and saved photos I made to them? The albums were not backed up/synced outside of the Creative Cloud services and are deleted across all devices.
This new Sync was it from the original catalog or from a New and or Different catalog than the first sync you did?
You can only sync to LR web from ONE computer and only ONE catalog on that ONE computer.
As said above you can only sync from One catalog on One computer.
Prior releases of LR Classic would Delete previously synced images if you Forced a sync from a different catalog or even the same catalog copied to a different computer.
Adobe changed that to leaving the images on the Web interface when you selected to Sync from a different catalog so you could still have access to those other images. But as far as the Albums you created (actually the Albums are created from the Collections you synce from LR Classic) they are removed as they no longer apply since you are tryhing to sync from a different catalog or even the same catalog from a different computer.
The work around for this limitation is to use the Web interface from the different computer (NOT from inside LR on that different computer or catalog) and Upload images directly to the Web interface. But that also poses a problem. Any images uploaded directly to the web interface is the Whole, Complete, file size not a Smart Preview of it. That will eat up the allotted space you have on the Adobe Cloud system.
Thank you for the perfect explanation.
What if I make a web page with Adobe Portfolio and share albums there, will they stay online even if I change a catalogue to sync?
Sorry I don't use the Portfolio system so I have no personal knowledge of what happens with it.
That's an excellent question. I am not positive of the answer because I am not using Portfolio. My guess is that what you have currently published to portoflio will remain, but the connection to your catalog will be lost. That means you won't be able to update the collections that have already been published.
This happened because you created a new catalog and syncing the new catalog, replaced the synced content of the previous catalog. Only one catalog can be synced at a time. The only way to get the older albums back is to resync the older catalog. Instead of starting a new catalog, return to your older catalog and import the new information into it.
Can someone tell me if Adobe is able to restore my data from a point in time? This whole sync thing have caused me to lose lots of data and it's not in Deleted for recovery. I need to roll-back, my old Lightroom Catalogue does not appear to be working either for me to recover.