• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

I have a problem.

Community Beginner ,
Dec 14, 2019 Dec 14, 2019

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I bought a new computer. I put all original images and catalogs to my external hard drive. After I installed the lightroom to my new computer I put all the original images and catalogs to the computer. When I open the catalogs this is what they have turned into. Shouldn't there be the image of the pictures?? They are all blank grey?! Now I have to search the original image files by searching with the file number. It works as it should when I find the right image but this is time taking and annoying. Please help.. I'm not a pro user so if you could send your explanation with images. And I'm a PC user! Thx.

IMG-20191214-WA0000.jpeg

TOPICS
Windows

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

You probably only copied the catalog file to the new computer, not the previews.lrdata folder. That is why the previews aren't showing. Lightroom can't rebuild them either, because the images are 'missing'. That means that you did not copy the images to the new computer either, or you did but they are now in a different place than they were on the old computer, and so Lightroom can't find them. Here are two links that explain how to move Lightroom to a new computer, and how to fix 'missing' images:

https://www.lightroomqueen.com/how-move-lightroom-to-new-computer/

https://www.lightroomqueen.com/lightroom-photos-missing-fix/

-- Johan W. Elzenga

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Beginner ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied