Highlighted

Jumping in, lots of photos to import

New Here ,
Jun 03, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Back in September 19, my single Drobo failed on me.  It corrupted the disk pack, and I've only last night finished the long battle of recovering the files, sorting out the duplicates, and organizing them by date and camera.  There are two Drobos now, so that won't happen again.

Now here's my problem.  First off, I'm very new to Lightroom.

Second, I have a TON of files (about 250,000) to import and organize.  They were stored in various folders according to work, home, hobby, etc and now are stored in a single directory on the NAS.   Some I will need to weed out as they are pictures taken by someone else, and don't really belong in my collection.   

Should I try to do that weeding before importing to LR or should I import first and use LR to do the weeding out?

Or is there some other SW that would be more suited to the task?

Windows 10 and Drobo NAS

Topics

Import and export, Windows

Views

Translate

Translate

Community Guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more

Jumping in, lots of photos to import

New Here ,
Jun 03, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Back in September 19, my single Drobo failed on me.  It corrupted the disk pack, and I've only last night finished the long battle of recovering the files, sorting out the duplicates, and organizing them by date and camera.  There are two Drobos now, so that won't happen again.

Now here's my problem.  First off, I'm very new to Lightroom.

Second, I have a TON of files (about 250,000) to import and organize.  They were stored in various folders according to work, home, hobby, etc and now are stored in a single directory on the NAS.   Some I will need to weed out as they are pictures taken by someone else, and don't really belong in my collection.