• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Lightroom 5.7 - how do I update to Lightroom Classic 9.0 without losing my current work?

Community Beginner ,
Nov 06, 2019 Nov 06, 2019

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi guys! I am a pro photographer. Still using Lightroom 5.7 but since updating to MacOS Catalina, LR has started playing up when I try to export things. I know I need to update but have been afraid as I am always in the middle of a few jobs. And I have loaaads of our travel photos stored on there too. How do I not lose everything, including presets etc??? What will happen next if I click 'install' Lightroom Classic 9.0? Do I need to do some groundwork to back up things beforehand or does it does it do it automatically? Thanks for taking the time to help me!

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Nov 07, 2019 Nov 07, 2019

As far as I know the new installation should sit independent of the current Lightroom 5.7, so that either one can be used at will.

Your present presets and your present Catalog will not be affected by the install of LR Classic 9, and nor (of  course) will the photos.

It will be necessary for LR Classic 9 to convert your old Catalog into its newer format. This happens as a COPY which is saved in your choice of location and under your choice of name, but by default will be saved in the same place,

Votes

Translate

Translate
Community Expert ,
Nov 07, 2019 Nov 07, 2019

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

As far as I know the new installation should sit independent of the current Lightroom 5.7, so that either one can be used at will.