• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Lightroom 9.3 constantly hanging, running slow

Community Beginner ,
Jul 28, 2020 Jul 28, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I'd like to get some advice about my current situation. I'm not the savviest computer person, but literate enough, I hope, to have this conversation... I am a non-professional photographer with over 60k photos/videos in my LR catalog. My computer:

Apple desktop Mac (2019, retina 5K) running MacOS Catalina 10.15.6

3.7 GHz  6-core Intel Core i5

64GB memory

Radeon Pro 580X 8GB graphics card

Lightroom Classic version 9.3 (60k+ photos all stored locally)

There is nothing currently plugged into the Mac except a eero router

Apple bluetooth keyboard and mouse

**Graphics processor accelerator option in LR settings is turned off (made a HUGE difference for a day or so)

I tried to contact Adobe support via live chat but after a very long hour the support rep told me I need to update my GPU because of my large library/catalog. I understand that GPUs come built in to the Mac and can't be upgraded without returning it to Apple. Is this what is normal for such a new Mac to need such an upgrade for basic Lightroom use? I hardly do any work in the Development module. These days I'm mostly organizing, renaming, mapping and keywording. I didn't think my library was that large comepared to a professional's catalog. I've also had a couple of random LR crashes recently (sent reports to Adobe) but I'm not sure they're related.