• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

lightroom catalog cannot be repaired

Community Beginner ,
Nov 18, 2020 Nov 18, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello, I've been browsing the forums for a solution to my problem, but can't find one. I have noticed sometimes an Adobe employee is able to recover damaged catalog files, so this is my only option at this point.

To make a long story short, I had to move my lightroom catalog and everything to an external drive because my laptop is crap. The problem is, the external drive I bought kept going to sleep and making lighroom crash. I'm a newbie to lightroom, so it took me forever to figure out the solution and how to move my files to the external drive. Once I figured out how to keep my external awake, it was working fine - I just plug in the drive when I want to work in lightroom and haven't had any problems since I figured that out.  However, working in lightroom today, it randomly crashed for no reason - it couldn't read the catalog file - I'm assuming because it crashed so many times before when I was having computer problems.  Also, I have declined backing up the catalog because apparently I'm an idiot (I was always super busy and it takes forever on my slow af PC). SO, that said, I have NO backup files to start over from and when I tried the repair option, it said it couldn't be repaired and to seek help from Adobe, so here I am.

Someone please help me, I was like 5 photos away from finishing a wedding and I had already told the bride I was ready to deliver the photos tonight. I've looked into SQLite repair tools, but they all cost money and I can't afford that right now for this one time occurrence if it may not even help. I've had a full on panic attack and been in tears trying to fix this, I don't know what else to do other than ask someone to please try to repair it.