Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Lightroom Classic and Cloud Storage with RAW files

New Here ,
May 09, 2019 May 09, 2019

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi,

I'm an IT professional who is working with a client who's recently upgraded to the Adobe CC photography plan with 1TB of storage.

I just recently started to understand this program and could use a little advise.

Currently, the user has about 600GB of photos stored locally on his computer and actively uses Lightroom Classic.

Is it possible to put the raw image files into the Creative Cloud Folder/storage, and use that location with a Lightroom Classic Catalog?

I understand that this may not be a backup solution persay, however he has a few devices, and does not like the Lightroom CC version.

Thanks,

Thomas McDonald

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , May 09, 2019 May 09, 2019

Yes, it's quite possible to use the CC folders, and there are options for sharing folders. Your client could use his catalogue stored in that folder space too, or save xmp files which can work a little better.

What are you/he then trying to do? There are some precautions if you want to open that catalogue on your machine. One is allowing the catalogue to sync upwards on his side, then down to yours, before you open it - otherwise you get conflicts with edits being made in catalogues that aren't u

Votes

Translate

Translate
LEGEND ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Lightroom CC stores original photos in "the cloud" on the Adobe servers, and as such, they are automatically backed up. (You can optionally keep a copy locally)

Lightroom Classic stores originals on a local or network hard disk; the originals cannot be stored in "the cloud". The user is responsible for backing up these photos.