• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Lightroom Classic versus Lightroom CC

New Here ,
Jan 25, 2021 Jan 25, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I am trying to decide which of the two Lightrooms I should use.  I have been using Classic for 10+ years.  Are there advantages to migrating to the CC version and vice versa?  Are all capabilities available on both versions?

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
New Here ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I'm a bit confused. I've been told by many that Lightroom Classic CC is the one to get, but I don't see it anymore.

Is the new Lightroom Classic - the updated version of CC? 

Thank you.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,
Jan 26, 2021 Jan 26, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

There are two versions now for Desktop/Laptop (plus mobile) Lightroom and Lightroom Classic.

Lightroom is a Cloud based app with files stored in the cloud with a different set of features to Classic. 

Lightroom Classic is a hard drive based app that relies on local storage with limited sync to the cloud.

Personally as my internet access is limited and slow (in Gulu, Uganda) I use Classic so I can access my files all the time without internet.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
community guidelines
Participant ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Lightroom CC is a vastly simplified and less capable photo manager/ developerthan Lightroom Classic.

But based on some comments in these forums, Adobe appears to regard LR Classic as a lesser application. I hope that's a severe misunderstanding.