Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Lightroom Classic with Google File Stream

New Here ,
Nov 04, 2020 Nov 04, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello, 

I am a high school yearbook teacher using Adobe with my students within our Mac Lab. This year I have implemented using Google File Stream with my students in my yearbook class. Since we all work on the project together we need easy access to an online file stream system to access photos. We use a shared folder in Google where we place all the images in individual folders. When students (the folder is shared with them and added to their own drives) open their drive in Lightroom, they can located their drive, but they cannot see ANY shared fodlers. They also cannot see a breakdown on specific folder within the shared folder. This is causing an organizational nightmare. All the photos show up in Lightroom in one jumbled mess. Does anyone have an idea how to show the shared folders within Lightroom via Google File Stream? 

Please help this teacher in need! Thanks! 

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

First- I have no knowledge, or use, Google File Stream, but from my research I found this-

"By default, Google Drive File Stream does not store a copy of your files on your local computer. This means that if you do not have an Internet connection, you will not be able to access these files. In order make your files accessible offline, right-click on a file or folder and select Available Offline under the Drive File Stream menu. Please note that doing so will store a copy on your computer, using up more of your hard drive space."

Lightroom-Classic requires files to be on a local connected hard-drive. So I assume  a 'Google Drive' location is not suitable.