• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Mac Hardware setup for Lightroom

Contributor ,
Jun 28, 2021 Jun 28, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi folks, your thoughts would be greatly appreciated.

I am buying a new Mac. system and am wondering what your thoughts might be on an optimal system for Lightroom and Photoshop. 

I am a commercial photographer and my current bottle neck is saving changes, image loading after ingesting into LR. Additionally my bottle neck in Photoshop is opening large layered files,  saving files, PS filters.

I would also like avoid OVER BUYING tech that won't speed my workflow up. 

I have a rather large library and my current system setup is iMac Pro with 1TB SSD drive where LR & PS reside. Also the LR library resides on the disk. 

I have JBOD boxes with a USB interface with hard drives  that are connected to the iMac. 

I am thinking that I would buy an iMac (M1) 27" with 64MB of RAM and the same JBOD with updated  Lightning or USB 3 interface. 

Anything I am missing? Is the proposed system over kill?

iMac Details:

• 3.6GHz 10-core 10th-generation Intel Core i9 processor, Turbo Boost up to 5.0GHz
  • 64GB 2666MHz DDR4 memory
  • Radeon Pro 5700 with 8GB of GDDR6 memory
  • 2TB SSD storage

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 2 Correct answers

Community Expert , Jun 28, 2021 Jun 28, 2021

@Sanpanza wrote:

I have a rather large library and my current system setup is iMac Pro with 1TB SSD drive

I don’t have any of that exact hardware since my Macs are different, although I do used a JBOD too (USB 3 at 10Gb/sec). but that iMac Pro is a good place to be in terms of Macs. The very fast iMac Pro internal storage should not be bottlenecking anything on it.

@Sanpanza wrote:

I am thinking that I would buy an iMac (M1) 27" with 64MB of RAM