• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Prints are a disaster after upgrading printer. Why?

Explorer ,
Nov 21, 2020 Nov 21, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

(Windows 10.) I have been printing happily for several years through Lightroom Classic using Epson R2880 printer. I upgraded to Epson R3000, and my prints are a total disaster; colours are not even remotely correct.

The problem is not the priner, as I have printed directly from Windows photo viewer, bypassing Lightroom altogether, and results are perfectly reasonable.

But whatever I try doing through Lightroom does not work. In Lightroom I have changed Profile (in Color management) to 'Managed by printer' - and got dire results.

I have tried letting Lightroom take over colour management as I used to. I realise I am not using quite the correct profile, as I am still using my old profile for Epson R2880 and correct paper profile. (I am having difficulty finding the profile for the R3000 and the paper I use.) I cannot believe the problem is that I don't have exactly the right profile - the results are so, so bad. And anyway, if the profile were the problem then prints should be reasonable when I hand control/color management to the printer, but they are not, they are awful.

The problem has to be communication between LR and new printer? But I have selected the correct printer in bottom right - so LR is seeing the R3000 and I am selecting that.

I must be doing something very basic very wrong(?). Any ideas.

(By way, paper is Brilliant Supreme Lustre Ultimate, from Calumet; but even on manufacturers website I cannot find a profile for that paper and Epson R3000 - when I download what they suggest it is for either Glacier or Glossy, which is somewhat confusing, but a separate issue no doubt).

Thanks for any suggestions.

All best, Graham Pears

TOPICS
Windows

Views

Translate