• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Question about "Unsaved Metadata"

Community Beginner ,
Mar 22, 2017 Mar 22, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Greetings. I am relatively new to Lightroom CC and apologize in advance if this is a topic that has been covered before. Briefly, I recently turned on the display unsaved metadata option in the grid view display and was amazed to discover that thousands of images in my catalog (literally every image that I have developed, add keywords to, etc) are now marked with an icon that apparently notifies me that these photos contain unsaved metadata. When I click on the icon a dialog box appears that says, "The metadata for this photo has been changed in Lightroom. Save Changes to disk?"  I would prefer at present to avoid generating thousands of .xmp files but am concerned that if I don't tell lightroom to save the changes to the disk I am at risk of losing all the edits I have made to these images.  Currently, my catalog is set up so that Lightroom does not automatically save changes in metadata to and .xmp file.  I was under the impression that all my changes were somehow automatically saved in the LR catalog. So, I guess I am asking: 1) What happens if I choose NOT to save the changes to the metadata and 2) what happens if I do make the changes. I am very confused and a bit concerned about this issue. I have spent scores of hours getting my catalog together and really, really don't want to screw it up. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.

David

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

LEGEND , Mar 22, 2017 Mar 22, 2017

Yes the edits and all metadata changes are saved to the catalog file always.

That is because you have turned something on to show you that.