• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Requesting feedback on my Lightroom strategy for backing up my image files and LR catalogue

New Here ,
Mar 24, 2020 Mar 24, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I'm a relative novice/hobbyist photographer, not a professional photographer, graphic designer, or illustrator.  I have recently read numerous posts about the varied and complex ways that photographers using Lightroom Classic backup their image files and also backup their catalogue using software to mirror/clone the hardrive containing their primary image library to a secondary/backup drive.  I'm beginning to wonder if the way I do my backing up is bad or incorrect, and was hoping to get some feedback.  Basically, i'm using LR Classic via the creative cloud platform. Here's what i've been doing:

1. I have all my image files in folders on one 4TB Lacie external hard drive (call it Lacie#1). My lightroom folders in the Folders Panel point to their corresponding folders and images and Lacie#1. Whenever i'm using LR Classic on my Desktop, I simply plug in Lacie#1 and LR finds the images on Lacie#1.

2. When I exit LR, my Catalogue saves to a folder on my MAC's harddrive.

3. I own 2 other Lacie HDs, Lacie#2 and #3.  To back up my primary images stored on Lacie#1, every month or so I simply plug Lacie#1 and Lacie #2 into my MAC, copy the Image Folder that contains all of my images, then paste that large file onto Lacie#2.  When that is complete, I do the same for Lacie#3.  It takes a couple of hours for the image folders to transfer, but its not a big deal. When complete, I have 2 backups of my images.