• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Run two versions of LR at the same time

New Here ,
Aug 25, 2020 Aug 25, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi everyone. I've been using Lightroom 4 for many years now and am thinking about updating to Lightroom classic/desktop version (NOT the cloudbased version). I just want to know how easy it is to import my catalogues and presets from version 4 (which is old!) into classic. And if that's not possible, am I able to run both on my computer at the same time? That way I can still work on my old ones in 4 but start new ones in Classic. 

Thanks!

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
LEGEND ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

It should happen nearly or totally Automatically. But it may not.

I have both Lr 5.7.1 and LrC 9.4 installed on my system and start the old version every now and then. No problems so far. BUT I do Not attempt to run Both at the same Time.

LrC will Upgrade you catalg but in doing that it make a COPY of you existing catalog and upgrades that copy. Leaving the original catalog as it was.

I suggest that after you do the catalog upgrade toy Move the new LrC 9.x catalog to some other folder, Rename it to something like LrC V9 cat and Set the LrC preferences, for V9, to Always use that newly moved and named catalog as it Default catalog to open.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
New Here ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Thanks for that info! I'm glad it keeps the old version and doesn't just replace it. At least I can keep both on my computer.