• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Saving edited files to external hard drive

New Here ,
Jun 23, 2021 Jun 23, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi everyone. Apologies as I'm not very good with lightroom yet, and have been really struggling with this.

I am wanting to move my completed images over to an external hard drive. I followed the guidance and dragged the folders of those images onto my hard drive in lightroom library, and then deleted the files off my computer. However, now the edits of those photos are gone. I presume this is now because I never moved the lightroom catalog, before deleting the files. Does anyone know how to move the lightroom catalog over to the external hard drive in lightroom?

Second question if that's OK? Going forward, it seems the best way to store my edits are to "export as a catalog" to my external hard drive. However, when I do that, I can't see the thumbnails of the original RAW files, only the LrC icon in that exported folder. Thus, I am not able to identify the photos in that folder unless I open up the catalog in Lightroom! I've clicked on the different export options, but nothing seems to work! 

I'm so confused about the best way to use an external hard drive so that I can have access to the edited photos easily enough when plugged in. Can anyone help please?

Thanks everyone, Dave

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

LEGEND , Jun 23, 2021 Jun 23, 2021