• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

SELECTIVELY, gradually importing from Mac Photos

New Here ,
Aug 26, 2020 Aug 26, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I am a beginner at Lightroom, with over 100,000 photos in Mac Photos.  I want to migrate to Lightroom slowly and gradually to make sure I do everything correctly.  How can I import only some of my photos (I.e. one month's worth) at a time?  I don't need to import all the edits.  But I want to be sure to import full quality originals.  Thank you.

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 3 Correct answers

Community Expert , Aug 26, 2020 Aug 26, 2020

Hi, yes doing it in bit at first is an excellent idea. 

Here's the deal: all you have to do is to export you images and import them into Lightroom. But to start you need to make a choice: one is to export the images WITH you alterations or the other is without your alterations. The catch is that if you export with your changes, you may loose the chance to make the adjustments to achieve better results that you can get with LR. On the other hand, all of the work you've already done will have been

Votes

Translate

Translate
Community Expert , Aug 27, 2020 Aug 27, 2020

To access your original files, you need to go into the package file for the Photos library. Right click on the Photos Library.photoslibrary file and choose Show Package contents. The folder you want to look at for the original files is Masters The images and videos are there in dated folders, so you can drag a month folder onto the Lightroom icon to initiate import. Make sure to import as a copy to avoid potential conflicts with future versions of Photos. 

Votes

Translate

Translate
Community Expert , Aug 27, 2020 Aug 27, 2020

Hi Adrienne,