• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Smart previews confusion

Oct 01, 2020 Oct 01, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi there!

I am failry new to Lightroom and I am still learning this one hell of a software collosus.

I want to start using smart previews since my mac has only 128gb SSD available and I have nice and clean 500gb SSD external drive for RAWs. However, those smart previews as for now only multiplies my questions, here are three most important one:

1. Let's assume I'll do the import, I will build smart previews for whole import then unplug my external drive. Next step is - naturally - to reject some photos and I'm doing this while my ex-drive is still unplugged. I am deleting my smart preview from library but will LR delete my photo from my external drive when I'll plug it in?

2. I have my nice library with smart previews and original on my external drive then unfortunately it dies completely but luckily for me I have a second external drive with whole backup of all the photos. Will I be able to reconnect those smart previews to second ex-drive?

3. Sooner or later I'll be changing my mac to something newer. What about exporting LR catalogue? Is it the same as withouth smart previews or some additional steps must be taken into consideration?

Thank you all in advance for clearing those things up for me!

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
LEGEND ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied