Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Subscription Fears

Community Beginner ,
Jun 29, 2021 Jun 29, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi - 

I'm an avid hobbyist photographer who does some pro work at times.  I am muddling along with LR 4.5 and mostly happy with it, but I'd like to try some of the new features I have read about. 

BUT and this is a huge BUT... The horror stories I have read about subscription cancelation abuses and ownership/access of my files, and the relentless monthly charges have me considering ON1 as an alternative to the entire Adobe product line.  I have about 3TB of photos that I keep on disk.  I really don't want to upload them all to the cloud and pay to maintain them - I do that with a hot swap drive and offsite storage, as us old Network Admins have been doing for years.

Any thoughts from the community regarding my fears, work arounds, and your general level of satisfaction in the 'Customer for Life' zone?  

Thanks,

Schultzie

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 6 Correct answers

LEGEND , Jun 29, 2021 Jun 29, 2021

BUT and this is a huge BUT... The horror stories I have read about subscription cancelation abuses and ownership/access of my files, and the relentless monthly charges

I haven't heard any of this ... what are you talking about?

My experience with the Adobe Photography Plan (which is the subscription plan that includes Lightroom Classic) has been flawless. I get charged every month (which I agreed to), I can cancel the subscription if I so choose. I own my files and edits and metadata, even a

Votes

Translate

Translate
Community Expert , Jun 29, 2021 Jun 29, 2021

I am an "avid hobbyist photographer" also, and Lightroom-Classic is the 'Tool' that supports my photography.