Switched from windows to mac, any possible way to retrieve original files?

New Here ,
Jan 05, 2021 Jan 05, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello, I recently moved from windows to macbook, I had transferred everything, I am pretty new with Lightroom software, I know how to edit the pictures and all that stuff but when it comes to crazy inner settings thats where I get confused. I thought I had everything set up, turns out when I tried to edit a picture in lightroom to photoshop, I am unable, I found out that I need the original file, I unfortunately deleted all files from old computer. I believe the pictures I see on my lightroom catalog are just smart previews. Is there a way to retrieve those original files from the cloud? Or am I out of luck?

Thank you.

TOPICS
How to, Mac, Sync

Views

Translate

Translate

Community Guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Adobe Community Professional ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

The images you see in the catalog are normal previews, not smart previews. The problem is that they are only used to view the images, because Lightroom uses a non-destructive workflow that doesn't alter the images. Without previews you would not be able to see the effect of your edits, but you do need the originals to make those edits or to send an image to Photoshop. If you deleted your originals and you do not have a backup, then I'm afraid that means they are lost.

Lightroom Classic does not save original images in the cloud. If you synced your catalog while you were using Lightroom on Windows, then there may be smart previews in the cloud. Syncing this catalog will download them as a new 'original'.  That is better than nothing, but it still means that these 'originals' will only be the size of a smart preview (2560 pixels longest side).

-- Johan W. Elzenga

Translate

Translate

Community Guidelines