• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Using Collections in Lightroom Classic 9.4

Explorer ,
Sep 18, 2020 Sep 18, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I am pretty new to LrC and I wish to organise my photos by using collections.  I thought I had worked it out but today all my collections were empty.

I did some experimenting and it seems that I have to have the photos imported into LrC and then place them into collections that I have created.  That works well, but I have a few thousand photos that I wish to place in collections so importing all these photos is going to take some time and the catalogue is going to become unmanageable with thousands of photos. 

My problem is, if I delete the photos from the catalogue then the photos are also deleted from the collections as well. 

Is there any way of keeping the photos in the collections without having the photos in the catalog?

The reason I am asking this is because when I import new photos  all the previously imported photos and shown as well and it is a slow process to locate the newly imported photos amongst the old photos.

I know I can select the option to show only the previous import in the catalogue but I really would like to keep the catalogue as small as possible.

If someone can shed some light on the use of collections it would be appreciated.

Thanks,

John

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 3 Correct answers

Community Expert , Sep 18, 2020 Sep 18, 2020