• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Why is Lightroom Classic image importing still in the stone age?

New Here ,
Jun 10, 2020 Jun 10, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

As an amateur photographer, I've been using Lightroom and Photoshop for years.  After all the bug fixes and new features introduced over this time, one of my frustrations is the lame image import function.  When is Adobe going to provide the capability to look at the actual images (i.e., pixels) to determine if an imported image is a duplicate or not?  The import function actually looks for metadata text differences - not the images.  I don't believe this comparison method has ever changed.  Furthermore, why isn't identifying duplicate images in the catalog already included in the base software?

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Checking duplicates based on pixels would make importing pictures a hugely time consuming process. Importing would take ages if you have a large catalog.

-- Johan W. Elzenga

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
New Here ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied