Workaround for Keyword/Collection Set Sync

New Here ,
Oct 23, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi All,

I'm evaluating Lightroom Desktop so I'm still learning and appreciate your indulgence. I've come to understand through reading various posts here the issue about keywords used in Classic not syncing to the web/mobile version of Lightroom. I don't think there is any need to rehash that here (I side on the gross oversight from Adobe but I get it!). What I'm wondering from the community is if anyone has found a clever workaround or an alternate workflow that achieves the same goal.

My scenario is not professional. I am our family's archivist, so my use of Lightroom would be to use Classic to do all the heavy lifting of indexing/organizing and if I ever get to it, rating and editing photos. The ideal goal here is for me to centrally manage the family photos/scans and then "publish" the database to a web/mobile version that my family can access. Lightroom infrastucture seems to meet that goal the best so far.

I'm neck deep in organizing which overall is really great in Classic but without the keyword sync, it means I'm the only one benefitting from the effort. Ideally, my family members would want to search the database the same way as I would - pictures that include Person X from Place Y during Time Z, etc.

Without keyword sync, I'm putting a lot of effort in Collections. However, I noticed in a test sync that collection sets don't sync either, so if I created a Collection Set like Thanksgivings, inside a Collection Set of Holidays with a Collection of Thanksgiving 2020, the only thing that comes over the sync is the Thanksgiving 2020. This means it will eventually be an endless list of random Collections (reminds me of Google Photo Albums which I hated).

I watch a lot of Lightroom videos but many come from the perspective of professional photographers who don't use/need keywords as much as my scenario.