• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Workflow to view collection and a folder simultaneously

Community Beginner ,
Aug 19, 2020 Aug 19, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I cannot get a useable workflow for how I use Lightroom Classic. I use it for photos of wildlife, so let's take 'Moths' as an example. I have a 'master' collection of moth photos, which includes my best photos of each species. When I take a new photo I want to see if it is better than my existing master, and if it is, want to replace the existing master, or I might want to add it to the 'master;' collection as well if it is different enough.
So I need to be able to view my 'master collection' and my new photos alongside each other.

Previously I had been keeping a separate folder, rather than a collection, for my 'master' photos, and if I wanted to add a new photo to the collection, I copied it in Bridge, as this can't be done in LR, and virual copies cannot be moved to a separate folder to the original. I need to easily compare the same time of year in different years (LR does not enable sorting photos by e.g. month taken), so I could not put my original photo in the 'master' folder as I could no longer compare trends by year, which I can do (clumsily!) if I keep the originals in their original folders (named to include the date). Doing it this way, I could open my 'master' folder in Bridge on a second monitor, and compare the photos with the new ones in Lightroom.

As Lightroom 'collections' cannot be viewed in Bridge, I can no longer compare photos without jumping between folders and collections to compare, and even then I cannot view individual photos - one in the collection, one in a folder - side-by-side.