• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Double storage space on LR

Explorer ,
Apr 23, 2022 Apr 23, 2022

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I'm fairly new to Adobe. I have all of my photos (business & personal) stored on a portable HD that sync to Creative Cloud. I would like to keep my personal photos in CC but also import my personal photos to LR so I can edit them on my iPad while traveling. How can I do this so I don't double my storage? 

TOPICS
macOS

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,
Apr 23, 2022 Apr 23, 2022

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Can you give more details on what kind of Adobe plan you have at the moment and the amount of Cloud Storage you have?

The Creative Cloud file storage and Lightroom's Cloud Storage are separate from each other but still take up space from the one quota.

Therefore as you say, the space would double and one option would be to remove them from the folder syncing to Creative Cloud and import them into to Lightroom and use that as your resting place for them.

If you don't want to or need to store the full resolution originals in the Cloud then one  option may be to use Lightroom Classic with the photos in the synced Creative Cloud folder, creating Collections of photos and syncing lower res Smart Previews to the Cloud that do not use storage quota. However, I have never read of any occasions where this workflow (the CC folder and Lr Classic) has been used, so it's best to get more advice on that.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Explorer ,
Apr 24, 2022 Apr 24, 2022

Copy link to clipboard

Copied