I can't reproduce this. If I select the deleted pictures album in the left panel, then tap on the three dots in the upper right corner, I can choose to permanently delete the photos. If I do that, I get a last warning dialog that these photos will not be retrievable, and when I tap that this is fine, they are gone. Is that the method you use?
-- Johan W. Elzenga