Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Raw Files downloaded showing jpeg settings

New Here ,
Nov 08, 2021 Nov 08, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello, 

I am new to using Lightroom and the creative cloud. Here is what happened, and I'm not sure how:

-Took raw+jpeg images on my camera

-Uploaded JUST the raw files to Lightroom mobile on my iPad (NOT the jpegs)

-synced to the cloud (Adobe CC)

-cleared/formatted my SD card in camera

-Downloaded the RAW files from the cloud onto my PC using Lightroom Download app (much quicker than doing it in Lightroom)

-transferred the downloaded RAW files from my PC to a blank, formatted SD card

-imported the RAW files from that SD card to the files app on my iPad (should be no trace of jpegs)

-the images in the files app on my iPad are showing the jpeg settings that I took them with (the in-camera film simulations, grain effect, etc.) even though they are the raw files themselves. When I save them to my photos app and view them, they show as the RAW file, with none of the jpeg settings. (Ex. One photo was taken using a black&white effect. The files app on my iPad shows the image in black&white, but when I save it to the photos app, it is in full color)

I am very aware that the above process is a very ineffecient workflow; that is not the point of this post (I am learning as I go).

Does anyone know how/why the jpeg images are showing in my files app when they were never downloaded in the first place?

Are the jpeg settings saved within the raw file for preview purposes? I hope this all makes sense.

Any insight is greatly appreciated!

TOPICS
iPadOS

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,
Nov 09, 2021 Nov 09, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied