• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Decided to migrate from Classic to CC – how to handle the photos already synced?

New Here ,
May 10, 2019 May 10, 2019

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi!

I've been using Lightroom Classic for a couple of years, but I'm considering a move to Lightroom CC. Up until now, I've been hesitant because I want to have all my pictures in a folder hierarchy based on Year/Month/Date and not stuck in some proprietary format. But over the last two years, I haven't had time to tag my new photos and I can see the benefits with Sensei search, face recognition and having all my images available on my mobile devices.

Since storage prices are becoming cheaper and cheaper I'm now considering a solution where I switch to Lightroom CC but also store all photos to an archive hard drive with the hierarchy above. That would give me all the benefits from Lightroom CC now, but won't cause any lock-in in the future, should I want to use some other DAM then.

But before I decided that Lightroom CC is the right choice for me, I've done some tests syncing a couple of Collections from Lightroom Classic to Creative Cloud and Lightroom CC on both iPhone and iPad.

What I seeking advice on is how to make the full migration from Classic to CC, with some but not all of my photos already in the cloud.

Is the best option to wipe my CC account, delete all photos and start over? If, how is that done without also deleting the images from Lightroom Classic on my computer?

Or should I leave the photos already in the cloud there, and just import the remaining images? What would be the best way to do that? Should I just use the migrate function in CC?

There are some tags assigned to my photos that I would like to migrate over to CC, but not all. Any recommendations on that? Would it be easy to delete tags once the catalog has been migrated?