Highlighted

Exit route from Lightroom?

New Here ,
Nov 12, 2019

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I am an amateur photographer and I have been a Lightroom user since long ago. I have purchased versions 1, 3 and 6 and used them on my Mac with satisfaction. I was not happy to see Adobe's switch to subscription based licensing and I decided to stay with Lightroom 6 which still does more or less everything I need and I would need for a while. But now, since the release of OSX Catalina it is clear that this idea will not work for long: 32 bit applications are not supported on an up-to-date Mac any more. This forces me to decide: to pay the ~10-20 EUR/USD monthly fee and continue to use (a much improved) Lightroom or to forget Lightroom and choose something else.

This post is not about the pros and cons of the two options, so please do not comment on this. What I would really like to know is what my possibilities are to retrieve as much of the huge amount of work as possible that I invested in the form of organising, editing, tagging my pictures, etc. if I choose to leave. (Lrexit - sorry, bad joke).

From Lightroom 6, I can certainly export all my final, edited pictures as full resolution jpegs. I can even export the adjustments as xmp sidecar files next to the original raws, hoping that other software can at least partially understand them. I am not sure about the collections structure, though. Can that be exported somehow? 

Along the same line: What are my possibilities if I choose to subscribe to the cloud based Lightroom, but decide not to continue with the subscription later? What can be exported or downloaded from the cloud? Is there an automated tool that exports pictures grouped according to the collections structure defined in the web based / mobile app?

Topics

How to

Views

Translate

Translate

Community Guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more