• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

How do I save a photo in Photoshop as a JPEG for it to appear in Lightroom with Ps adjustments?

Explorer ,
Mar 26, 2020 Mar 26, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I’m new to Photoshop but quite familiar with Lightroom. When I choose ‘save’ in photoshop and close the program, the image appears as a PSD next to my RAW file in Lightroom. The PSD file is about 256 mb so I’m concerned about running out of disk space.  If I choose save as a JPEG, the image is saved in the correct destination folder but does not appear in the Lightroom catalog. Is there a way I can save as a jpeg from Ps and for it to automatically appear in Lightroom rather than having to import the image back? Sorry for the long winded explanation. 

Thank you. 

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 2 Correct answers

LEGEND , Mar 27, 2020 Mar 27, 2020

Are you using Lightroom Classic?

If you right-click on the folder name in the LR Library and choose synchronize folder, the jpeg should be added to the catalog.

Votes

Translate

Translate
LEGEND , Mar 28, 2020 Mar 28, 2020

It should work on Mac. Make sure you choose the app and not the folder in external editing preferences.

Macintosh HD >> Applications  >> Adobe Photoshop 2020 >> Adobe Photoshop 2020.app

Right-click and choose Edit in >> Photoshop for Jpeg (or your own name)

When you finish editing in PS  press Cmd+W and then click Save.

Let us know if that works.

Votes

Translate

Translate
LEGEND ,
Mar 27, 2020 Mar 27, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Are you using Lightroom Classic?