Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

I want to delete my photos imported to Lightroom and start again

New Here ,
Jan 04, 2021 Jan 04, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I am a Lightroom newbie. 

In the last 12 or so Covid months I have scanned approximately 20,000 negatives and historical photos (prints).  As a result, all of these photos have similar dates in 2020, differeing only by days or months.

The photos are located on a dedicated HDD, which is backed up to a NAS.  All photos are sorted into folders on subject and then sub-folders by date.  Maintenance of folder hierarchy in Lightroom is imperative if I am to find anything I am looking for.  If I want to find a photo of grandparents from circa 1932, albeit scanned in 2020, I need to be able go to the 1932 folder within the "Grandparents" folder to find it.  

I decided to import the photos into Lightroom.  I picked the "Add Photos" option, and selected the root directory of my Photos collection on my HDD.  Lightroom started the process and completed it some time later.  I now have 75,000 photos in no semblance of any order and sorting by date is useles, with 20,000 images of originals taken over about 100 years, but the scans all created in 2020, mixed in with images actually taken in 2020.

I now understand (the hard way) that Lightroom does not maintain the source HDD folder structure when photos are "Added", and that I should have imported folder by folder and recreated my folder structure manually within Lightroom - is this correct?  If so, with hundreds, if not thousands of individual folders, this would be more than tedious, and cause me to renounce my Adobe CC subscription.

I seem unable to even delete the images that are there in order to start again - if I wanted to.  Lightroom just grinds to a halt, even when I select say 100 images at a time for deletion.

Frustrated and headed for the exit.

Any ideas, anybody?

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines