Highlighted

Lightroom slows my computer

New Here ,
May 15, 2019

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I'm an hobby photographer who has enjoyed learning and using Creative Cloud (especially Lightroom). But I've had one dealbreaker struggle with it: It really slows down my computer. Like, it takes almost an hour for it to do anything when I wake it up. I'm using an iMac desktop from 2015, running iOS, latest version. I update and install software updates as soon as they're available. I've spoken with Adobe about this and they just tell me to update CC, which I do regularly, but even getting the computer to function so that I can update LR takes forever because it's just so painfully slow.

I'm pretty sure CC is the culprit because I've uninstalled it and the computer works fine. Then I reinstalled it and had the same issues. I've reached the point where I've uninstalled LR, cancelled my CC subscription and have been looking for alternatives, but nothing comes close to the features that CC offers. It's such a great program, but I just can't imagine continuing to pay for something that causes so much frustration. Am I alone here? Has anyone else experienced this?

Thanks!

Hi iwannerdance,

Sorry that Lightroom is slowing down your computer while using the application. That isn't a great user experience, let us help make it right.

Could you please let us know the version of Lightroom you had installed on your computer?

Please uncheck the option "use graphics processor" under the Preferences> Performance menu in Photoshop and see it the issue persists.

I'd recommend that you check out this article to troubleshoot the GPU in Photoshop: Troubleshoot Photoshop graphics processor (GPU) and graphics driver issues

On top of that, I would suggest that you check out this help article to optimize the app's performance: Optimize Lightroom performance

Let us know how it goes.

Thanks,

Akash

Views

Translate

Translate

Community Guidelines