Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Move to Lightroom CC with more the 1TB of images

Community Beginner ,
Oct 19, 2018 Oct 19, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi,

I've been using Lightroom Classic for several years now with more the 1TB of images in my catalog.

My catalog is well organized and backed up to the cloud so I love the solution.

I really like the idea of Lightroom CC and I want to move to the cloud solution, I currently have the Lightroom and PS subscription which gives me 20GB of storage in the cloud, and even if I'll upgrade to the 1TB it won't hold my full collection... (and I don't have the money to actually pay for it now)

What are my options on moving to CC without moving all the images to the cloud?

Can I mark only some of the images to the cloud while keep others only local?

Should I work on both CC and Classic side by side? (can this be done?)

What is the best solution for my situation?

Thanx!

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Oct 19, 2018 Oct 19, 2018

JimHess  wrote

If you import images directly to Lightroom CC, you can have that program configured so that they are also downloaded to Classic. That way you have the full-sized images on the web as well as stored locally on your hard drive. And that is done automatically in one step. Using that type of workflow you can have full-sized images in Lightroom CC when you need them, and just share Smart previews that don't impact your cloud allotment at other times.

This probably requires a bit more exp

Votes

Translate

Translate
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

linktree  wrote

Hi,

I've been using Lightroom Classic for several years now with more the 1TB of images in my catalog.