• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Moving LTR catalogue and photos from an old external HD to a new external HD.

Community Beginner ,
Jan 31, 2020 Jan 31, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Dear Sirs,

I decided to buy a new, faster and bigger external HD where I keep the Lightroom catalogue and all the pictures. Everything is working fine, but I've been using the old HD for many years so I thought it was a good idea to changhe it with, a new one, to avoid problems.

I'm wandering what's the safest and best way to move all the contents from the old HD to new one.

I work with an iMac 27" which has got an internal SSD where I installed just the applications. Photos and catalogue are, at the moment, in the old external HD. The new HD is a Lacie with a thunderbolt3 usb-c which should be faster than the old HD connected via USB-3.

What way would you recommend to move everything?

Thank you.

T.

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Beginner , Feb 02, 2020 Feb 02, 2020

I did it, but the link is still with the old HD which, if on and connected, makes LTR CC work, If it is not connected, the systemrefuses to accept the link to the new HD with all the photos in it. Of course the catalogue was moved with the preview as well.

Votes

Translate

Translate
LEGEND ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I would normally copy the entire folder/sub-folder structure to the new ehd and then it should be possible to re-link everything, especially if you have everything nested under a top level folder.