• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Question about Lightroom Classic and hard drive space

Community Beginner ,
Apr 30, 2021 Apr 30, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello Lightroom Crew:  I'm a pro photographer and I've got nearly 100,000 photos in my Lightroom Classic catalog.  They are all stored on external hard drives so as not to eat up the hard drive on my computer but I was wondering if, even though the original photos are on external hard drives, if just having them visible and accessable in Lightroom is eating up any hard drive space?   If anyone knows that answer, I'd appreciate the help.  Thank you! 

Just for reference and if it matters, I'm a Mac user.  

Tony 

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

No, having the image files online or offline would make no difference to the amount of disk space being used. Care to explain more what the issue is? If you're concerened about space being used up on your internal system drive, bear in mind that the Lightroom catalog, and its associated previews cache(s) will increase in physical size as you add more images to the catalog. So if the catalog is stored on the internal drive, there will be a gradual increase over time in the amount of space taken up on that drive, as you add more images to the catalog (even though the images themselves are on external hard drives).

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
New Here ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied