Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Small files

New Here ,
Jun 12, 2020 Jun 12, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi 

I use Adobe Lightroom Classic.  I am not an expert or indeed experienced computer user but I have noticed whenever I export a file  (RAW image)  from Lightroom to my computer (as a JPEG image), these files are dramatically reduced in size.  For example, my original file as imported from the camera as a RAW file is 27MB.  I do not touch this file in any way...no editing or cropping whatsoever.  I then export the file as a JPEG to my harddrive and the file has been reduced to 13MB.  I do not tick the image sizing box and have the resolution box on its maximum of 300.  In the quality I leave set at 100 and the limit file size is unticked.  My question....is this normal and if so how large can I enlarge this image without lose of detail etc?   Thank you for your help.

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Advisor ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Yes, this is normal.   RAW files contain a lot of information about the photo which allows you to do better editing of exposure and color.   JPG is highly compressed, and while it may appear to look as good as the RAW, much of the information is "baked" into the file, making editing less joyful.  You can still edit a jpg, but you will find the range of chnages you can make to exposure and color are significantly reduced.

Ergo; keep the RAWs for editing.  Make JPGs for viewing on web and such.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
New Here ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied