• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Transfer DNG from iPhone to iPad while off the grid.

New Here ,
Sep 18, 2019 Sep 18, 2019

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I use LR CC app to take DNG photos with my iphone. I have a subscription but I’m usually far from cell or Wi-Fi coverage so LR can not sync to my IPad. In other words, I’m off the grid. I would like to transfer my LR DNG photos taken on my iPhone to my IPad and then organize, rate and edit them on the IPAD daily while I’m in the field. I can Airdrop from the iPhone to my iPad’s camera roll but the DNG photos taken on the LR app on the iPhone show up as jpegs on the iPad.  I prefer to edit the DNG photos in the LR app on the iPad. Is there a way to transfer the DNG photos to my iPad so I can develope the DNG photos in the LR app on my iPad?

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Sep 19, 2019 Sep 19, 2019

Thinking about this a little more (and thanks to @selondon for reminding me that there IS an "Export Original" option in the LR app on iOS), you could use that Export Original option to save a copy of the original to the Camera Roll (and maybe eventually to an external drive with iOS13). Once in the Camera Roll you can then Airdrop it from the Photos app to your iPad, which should trasnfer the same full resolution DNG file. Once in the Camera Roll on the iPad you could them import it into the LR

Votes

Translate

Translate
LEGEND ,
Sep 18, 2019 Sep 18, 2019

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

On my iPhone I had to change a preference setting.   

Go to: Settings >> Photos >> Transfer to Mac or PC

Choose “Keep Originals”