Trying to Sync Deleted Pictures

New Here ,
Jan 24, 2021 Jan 24, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Typically, I add photos to Lightroom via a Scandisk. Quite often the disk will have hundreds of pictures. By way of example, let's say 700 pictures. Before I add them, I pause syncing. I then add all of them to a folder I made just for new pics. I look through them and delete all of the rejects - lets say, for example, there were 650 rejects. This reduces the number of pics from the original 700 to 50. At this point I unpause syncing. The problem is that syncing status tells me it is trying to sync the original 700 pictures. Precisely what I wanted to avoid. I mean I deleted 650 of them. What is going on? Why isn't Lightroom smart enough to stop wasting time and my battery life (Macbook) syncing photos I don't want and aren't there anyway? Any help would be appreciated.

TOPICS
Mac, Problem or error, Sync

Views

55

Likes

translate

Translate

Translate

Report

Report
Community Guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct Answer

Adobe Community Professional , Jan 25, 2021 Jan 25, 2021
Which version of Lightroom are you using? If you're using the Lightroom desktop app, when you delete images they are initially moved to the Deleted album (basically an internal trash can) where they will remain for up to 60 days (to allow the user to undo any erroneous deletions). I would assume that they will still be synced to the cloud as the Deleted album is designed to be accessible from all the cloud client apps. If you really don't want them synced, you would need to open the Deleted albu...

Likes

translate

Translate

Translate
Adobe Community Professional ,
Jan 25, 2021 Jan 25, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Which version of Lightroom are you using? If you're using the Lightroom desktop app, when you delete images they are initially moved to the Deleted album (basically an internal trash can) where they will remain for up to 60 days (to allow the user to undo any erroneous deletions). I would assume that they will still be synced to the cloud as the Deleted album is designed to be accessible from all the cloud client apps. If you really don't want them synced, you would need to open the Deleted album and permanently delete them before resuming sync.

Likes

translate

Translate

Translate

Report

Report
Community Guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
New Here ,
Jan 25, 2021 Jan 25, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Jim...perfect! Appreciate the help. So simple, but the solution eluded me.

Likes

translate

Translate

Translate

Report

Report
Community Guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines