• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

MUSE is perhaps the most user unfriendly web development tool in history

Engaged ,
Jul 04, 2017 Jul 04, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I'm a 30+ year software engineer that has background in all kinds of software technologies from Windows Forms apps to Enterprise level web applications.

I wanted a tool that would get me a quick and simple web site up for personal use, I thought I'd give MUSE a try since that was one of it's listed goals.  So I fire up MUSE and I immediately run into usability problems:

1.  It's unfortunately still bound to the archaic "Master" page concept, this just isn't used any more.  But regardless, I come to edit a footer that is on my "Master" from another page based on the master page ... I click, I double click, select the Text tool, do the same and nothing happens.  What SHOULD happen is Muse realizes this is on the "Master" page (this is a Muse concept so it should be aware of it's own constructs) and allow me to make the edit ... if you really feel it's necessary then warn me I'm changing the master page (allow me an option to turn these warnings off).  Do NOTHING at all just forces me to research "why" -- this already breaks a rule of what makes a good user interface/experience (especially for users NOT want to get involved in "Master" constructs).

2.  Editing menu items ... by default this are "locked" to page titles, this is nuts, plain and simple.  There is NO reason to lock the menu text to a page Title by default.  Certainly default the menu item text to the page title at instantiation but do NOT "lock" the text for the Menu item.  Having to select "Manual" for Menu Type is absolutely NOT user friendly.