• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Noob alert!

Community Beginner ,
Feb 25, 2018 Feb 25, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi all – I’m very new to Muse and this is my first post, so I apologise in advance for anything noobish that I write.

I’m currently working on my 2nd Muse site having completed a very simple one for some local self-promotion, which you can find here http://www.stevemcc.co.uk. I’ve been learning as I go along…it’s been a slog, but I’ve managed to find solutions or work arounds by watching/reading online resources. That said, I’m certain I’m not putting things together in the most effective & efficient way or making the best choices for the kind of content I wish to display – fixed, fluid, pinned, grouped…as someone who’s worked with print for 20 years, the interface is very familiar, but getting my head around the myriad of end device sizes, orientations and responsive behaviours sends my head into a bit of a spin!

When doing stevemcc.co.uk, I ended up with an awful lot of fixed breakpoints before I was satisfied that the site displayed ok from a mobile in portrait orientation, right up to 27 inch retina screen. It seems to work on all devices I have tested and whilst I’m sure it could have been built in a fraction of the time it took me, I’m reasonably happy with it as a first stab.

However, the new site I’m working on is driving me up the wall. There’s much more content that the first site, although I’ve tried to keep the design very simple and template across the galleries. This is a link to my WIP - http://stevemccallumcoukldn01.businesscatalyst.com. I’ve got everything looking good on my big screen and MacBook Pro. Unlike my previous site, I opted to create an alternative layout (+phone) to cover these devices – partly driven by the wish not to have to create endless breakpoints across dozens of pages and because I assumed this to be best practice…though I have since read varying opinions on this.