• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Responsive video

Engaged ,
Jan 04, 2018 Jan 04, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

i am a video editor and i just built my responsive portfolio website only to find out that all the videos are resulting in one big mess on the mobile devices. The simplest way i can explain what i’ve done is this: i have a video embedded as html5 on a page. In the largest breakpoint the video is set to 960 width and it’s set to only show in that breakpoint. In the next breakpoint, i have the same video embedded again as html5 but smaller and it’s also set to only show in that breakpoint. Then I have a 3rd breakpoint, the smallest one- same thing. All is great if no one is resizing anything but here’s the problem: if i start playing the video and then change the size of the browser the video will continue to play in the background but it disappears from the screen because now the browser is displaying the video from the new breakpoint. No one really resizes screen on desktop but on mobile it’s a total disaster. If you start playing the video and then you flip your phone in horizontal position to watch it bigger the video disappears from the screen but keeps playing in the background.

does that make any sense?

what’s the workaround that?

my website is www.ivantheeditor.com

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Guide , Jan 11, 2018 Jan 11, 2018

IvanTheEditor  написал(а)

If you start playing the video and then you flip your phone in horizontal position to watch it bigger the video disappears from the screen but keeps playing in the background.