• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

P: 32-bit RGB value readout in 32-bit color picker is deceptive

Explorer ,
Dec 21, 2021 Dec 21, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Being a software developer myself, I understand it's arguable whether this is a bug or design limitation within the scope of what's intended from the programming perspective, but it nevertheless cost me a full day of work today and feels and behaves like a bug from a user and usability perspective so I'm reporting it as such. 

Repro steps:

1. Make a new 32 bit document

2. Add a new fill layer

3. Set its color to 10,10,10

4. Open a Color Picker by clicking on the currently active color in the left side toolbar or in the color panel.

5. Click anywhere on canvas to sample the color.

Result: Picker reads value 9.9518 (mentioning the stop number to be +3.73 a bit below)

Expectation: Picker reads value 10.0000.

Upon trying to debug this myself before reporting it, I first thought it might be some kind of bug with precision, but figured out that the real reason for this behaviour is that the RGB value in the color picker tool is unable to show values in between the intensity stop number of two decimal places. In this pracitcal example this means Color Picker tool can report colors:

9.9518 (+3.73 stop)

10.0211 (+3.74 stop)

but is unable to display anything in between those two numbers, so in both cases it actually is reporting the wrong value for the color that is being sampled from the canvas, becasue the correct thing that it should show, if it had to show stops correctly as well, would be:

10.0000 (+3.736955267 stop).

This doesn't seem to be a technical limitation within Photoshop either, since the Info panel 32-bit readout correctly shows the value as 10.00, Color Picker should be able to display correct color as well.