P: Could Not Complete Your Request Because Of A Program Error: psd and png's

2 Votes
Community Beginner ,
Feb 28, 2018 Feb 28, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I saved a psd file that I had been working on for days. I was saving as I was working on it, just in case. Yesterday, I saved it onto my desktop, and closed the file. I went to open it directly afterwards, and I got the error message: COULD NOT COMPLETE YOUR REQUEST BECAUSE OF A PROGRAM ERROR. I went to the forums and tried some of the thing recommended. I tried opening it on CC 2018, 2017, 2014 all upgraded, including the Cloud, and it won't open my file in any of the versions. I am on a Mac OS Sierra 10.12.5. This is not the first time this has happened, it first happened in January, right after the new year, with about a dozen png and psd files that I had been working on at that time, that I now can't use or know how to open. They open fine in Preview, all the detail is there, but will not open in photoshop. Some of these files have massive amounts of layers, just thought I'd add this. To top this off, photoshop would not let me save some items in png format, and I couldn't figure out why, I thought maybe too many layers to compress, but I'm not savvy. I have been trying to find answers for weeks now. I can't use or open the files. I am completely turned off by the Customer Support out of India. Is there anyone who can help me with this. Thank you.

Bug Fixed
TOPICS
macOS , Windows

Views

12

Translate

Translate

Report

Report
Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

LEGEND , Dec 08, 2018 Dec 08, 2018
It was a corrupt font that caused it.

Votes

Translate

Translate
18 Comments
Adobe Employee ,
Feb 28, 2018 Feb 28, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi Leon,

Can you send me a copy of the psd that you haven't been able to open? Either as an attachment or with a link - I'll share my email below.

Thanks,
Hannah

1379798rrx4_inline-cc227bb2-ce34-4852-9509-195f88ff7661-1037473235.png

Votes

Translate

Translate

Report

Report
Community Beginner ,
Mar 01, 2018 Mar 01, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi Hannah, yes I will send it to you.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Report

Report
LEGEND ,
Apr 18, 2018 Apr 18, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Did you get a resolution to this problem - I get this error on nearly every file I work on now.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Report

Report
Community Beginner ,
Apr 19, 2018 Apr 19, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi, no I did not get a response back from Hannah. I sent her my file as per her request but have not received a response. Adobe's customer service is non existent, other than the scary folks in India, who want access to your computer. I use cc2017 only as the problems started for me in January of this year when I uploaded cc 2018.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Report

Report
Adobe Employee ,
Apr 19, 2018 Apr 19, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi Leon,

Sorry I didn't get back in touch with you about your other issue, Leon. Did you get my invitation to try the fix for pngs? I emailed you on March 6 and sent you an invitation to try the fix for pngs before it came out publicly. It shows that your status remained as "invited," having never accepted.

@_rudders, if you are also getting this error please send two things to me and I'll add them to the case:

1. Go to Help > System Info and copy and paste the contents of that window into your email
2. Please send any file that is throwing the program error

Thanks,
Hannah

Votes

Translate

Translate

Report

Report
Adobe Employee ,
Apr 19, 2018 Apr 19, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Incidentally, the png fix has since become public, so that invitation is no longer necessary. You can now get the png fix by simply updating to the current version of Photoshop, 19.1.3.

Regards,
Hannah

Votes

Translate

Translate

Report

Report
Community Beginner ,
Apr 19, 2018 Apr 19, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi Hannah, I had to remake those PNG's as I needed to use them pronto, hence my reason for not accepting that offer. Have you had any luck with the "Dogs" PSD file that I sent you? Thanks. 

Votes

Translate

Translate

Report

Report
Adobe Employee ,
Apr 19, 2018 Apr 19, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi Leon,

That's understandable. Your file is under investigation by our engineers. I'll keep you posted on the progress.

Thanks,
Hannah

Votes

Translate

Translate

Report

Report
LEGEND ,
Jul 05, 2018 Jul 05, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi,
I am unable to open photoshop file throwing error "Could not complete your request because of a program error". Below is the screen shot link for your reference.
This is very important file please suggest any solutions.

https://ibb.co/fJi5py 

Thanks,
Kamlesh Kumar

Votes

Translate

Translate

Report

Report
LEGEND ,
Aug 10, 2018 Aug 10, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi,

I am currently having this same issue. I cannot open .psd files after I have closed them! I was just on a chat with adobe support for over an hour and they could not figure out the issue. Please tell me there is a solution to this error because I keep losing my work because of it!

Votes

Translate

Translate

Report

Report
Community Beginner ,
Aug 10, 2018 Aug 10, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Christina, I did not hear back from Hannah any further than what is above. It's been with Adobe's engineers for four months so far. I don't expect I'll ever hear back from anyone at Adobe, as their customer service has reached an all-time low. I too had a large file with the exact same details as you, and my problem also occurred when Adobe brought out CC 2018 in January. I think they fixed it but pretended it didn't happen. Adobe's India customer service is beyond frustration and futile to use or attempt to get any help from. 

Votes

Translate

Translate

Report

Report
LEGEND ,
Aug 10, 2018 Aug 10, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Well that's disappointing! You think they would fix a major bug like this seeing that a lot of people using Photoshop have jobs to do! Every time this happens, it is such a set back on my work! Thanks for the reply!

Votes

Translate

Translate

Report

Report
Adobe Employee ,
Aug 15, 2018 Aug 15, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi Christina,

That sounds like it may be a different issue than what has been reported here. I did see an issue that we weren't able to reproduce here.

• Are you having trouble reopening every psd file you save?
• As a precaution have you tried saving your file as a new name before you close it?

Would you like to do a screenshare so I can take a look at what you're seeing? Please email me and we'll set something up.

Thanks,
Hannah

282359eaepf_inline-fce9aa68-028b-44dc-9773-2cdc4eea25c7-1225965555.png

Votes

Translate

Translate

Report

Report
Adobe Employee ,
Nov 15, 2018 Nov 15, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi Leon,

Thanks for sharing your file. We were unable to reproduce the behavior you were seeing so it had been closed by engineering, but it could easily be reopened with more information. You mentioned above that you thought it may have been fixed? It's possible that a fix in another area could have addressed your issue (e.g. there was a RAM calculation issue that was impacting a lot of other areas farther down the pipeline).

Are you still seeing program errors when attempting to open certain PSDs? If you are and you're willing to share, it would help to have more examples. Also if you happened to have saved an original under another name (before getting the program error) that would also be valuable.

Thank you,
Hannah

Votes

Translate

Translate

Report

Report
Community Beginner ,
Nov 16, 2018 Nov 16, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi Hannah, was Engineering able to open the file named, "Dog.psd"?

I have not been able to open this file, and that's the file that I'm concerned with mostly. The PNG problem didn't occur again, and neither has the problem with not being able to open a psd file due to program error.

I only experienced this in January 2018, when I uploaded CC 2018. I believe I started working on these files with CC 2017 and when I loaded CC 2018, to complete the files, they got corrupted by CC 2018.

I am still using CC 2017 for fear of having the same thing happen with some of my other files. Unfortunately the "Dogs.psd" file that you have was the only one, and I still cannot open it, which is too bad as it has 60 or more layers of work on it. 

I am not getting anymore program errors and haven't since that time.

Thank you for checking back with me.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Report

Report
LEGEND ,
Dec 03, 2018 Dec 03, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I am having this issue after buying a set of psd graphics template files. Very large files with lots of layers. I had them convert tiff files but I get the same error message and can't open them. I tried updating to the current cc photoshop program and changing all my preferences to default and I still can't open the files. I am using Windows 10 OS and a 64 PC. 
I tried chatting with Adobe but my chat was never opened.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Report

Report
Adobe Employee ,
Dec 06, 2018 Dec 06, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Where did you buy the templates from? Have you tried to contact the seller or try re-downloading them?

Senior Product Manager - Customer Advocacy - Digital Imaging

Votes

Translate

Translate

Report

Report
LEGEND ,
Dec 08, 2018 Dec 08, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

LATEST
It was a corrupt font that caused it.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Report

Report