Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

How to create a narrow hoop and blurred edge

Explorer ,
Aug 14, 2021 Aug 14, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi,

Im looking to create a transparent layer with a hoop. Im looking to create a blurred edge effect for the hoop. The blurred edge would be approximately 10-15 % of the diameter of the hoop, on the outer and inner edge.

The final outcome would be a transparent layer where the hoop in the attached image is transparent and the background and hoop centre are solid fill.

Im quite new to photoshop so I hope the above makes sense.

I would welcome any guidance here.

Thanks

Rob

TOPICS
macOS

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Adobe
Community Expert ,
Aug 14, 2021 Aug 14, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

With your hoop on a separate layer make it a smart object and apply a gaussian blur:

hoop 02.jpg

I added a red layer to show blurred image better. On your fill layer for the center, make a circular selection, about in the center of the hoop, and add a mask to the fill layer.

hoop 04.jpg

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Explorer ,
Aug 30, 2021 Aug 30, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi Chuck,