• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

How-To: Photoshop Smudge Effect on Images ?

Community Beginner ,
Apr 21, 2022 Apr 21, 2022

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi 

A Photoshop newbie here, appreciate any help and guidance from the expert! 

Just wondering how would i create such an effect on an image!. I believe it is a smudged effect which is a cool way to transition from the image to white space/background to write some text. It will be used for posts in Instagram or Facebook. effect.png

TOPICS
Windows

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 3 Correct answers

Community Expert , Apr 21, 2022 Apr 21, 2022

Seems like the effect of Layer Masks. 

To create it you could try using a randomized, scattered brush or look for stock images that provide structures you like. 

Screenshot 2022-04-22 at 08.24.07.png

Votes

Translate

Translate
Community Expert , Apr 21, 2022 Apr 21, 2022

Some screenshots concerning a randomized Brush: 

Screenshot 2022-04-22 at 08.50.24.pngScreenshot 2022-04-22 at 08.50.29.pngScreenshot 2022-04-22 at 08.50.39.png

Votes

Translate

Translate
Community Expert , Apr 26, 2022 Apr 26, 2022

By putting multiple Layers in a Group with the Blend Mode »Normal« one can use a Knockout-Layer with Fill 0% one those. 

By using a Linked Smart Object one can use the same Knockout in multiple files and, if onechanges the SO itself, update it the next time one opens the layered images. 

A Library Smart Object may be more convenient for placing, though. 

Screenshot 2022-04-27 at 08.38.26.pngScreenshot 2022-04-27 at 08.39.18.pngScreenshot 2022-04-27 at 08.41.09.pngScreenshot 2022-04-27 at 08.41.40.png

Votes

Translate

Translate
Adobe
Community Expert ,